Top 5 — Ranked by Evidence
Very Strong
Niacin
Supports Skin Health
14–16 mg/day (RDA); lipid-lowering: 1,500–3,000 mg/day (extended-release niacin, unde
Very Strong
Vitamin C
Collagen Synthesis and Wound Healing
75–90 mg/day (RDA); immune/antioxidant: 200–500 mg/day; upper limit 2,000 mg/day; lip
Strong
AstaZine® (Natural Astaxanthin from Haematococcus pluvialis — BGG)
Skin Health and Photoprotection
4-12 mg/day AstaZine (research-validated; some applications 12-24 mg)
Moderate
Marine Collagen
Skin elasticity and hydration (Type I-rich)
Skin: marine collagen products are commonly taken at about 2.5 to 10 g/day. The cited knee trial used 5 g/day of collagen peptides, but its collagen source is not stated as marine.
Limited
DermaNiA® (Niacinamide for Skin Health — Sabinsa)
Non-melanoma skin cancer prevention
Oral 500 mg twice daily (1,000 mg/day) in the ONTRAC skin-cancer trial in high-risk patients; no oral trial has established a dose for general skin appearance.
📈 Fastest Growing Hair, Skin & Nails Ingredients
Branded ingredients seeing rapid growth in formulator adoption and clinical research in 2024–2026.
Trending
Strong
AstaZine® (Natural Astaxanthin from Haematococcus pluvialis — BGG)
Skin Health and Photoprotection
4-12 mg/day astaxanthin (research-validated; some applications 12-24 mg).
Trending
Moderate
Pycnogenol® (French Maritime Pine Bark)
Skin elasticity and hydration
50–200 mg/day; cardiovascular: 100–200 mg/day; cognitive: 100 mg/day; athletic performance:…
Trending
Moderate
Lustriva® (Arginine Silicate + Magnesium Biotinate)
Hair density and growth (one randomized trial)
160 mg/day (10 mg silicon + 10 mg biotin).
🔬 Future Hair, Skin & Nails Ingredients to Watch
Lower current evidence but active research underway — these may become top picks within 2–3 years.
Watch
Moderate
Collactive® (Marine Collagen + Elastin Peptide Complex — PLT Health)
Reduced deep-wrinkle count reported in a single manufacturer study (28 days)
2 g (2,000 mg) per day, a fraction of the 5-10 g/day typical of standard hydrolyzed collagen.
Watch
Limited
DermaNiA® (Sabinsa Branded Niacinamide / Vitamin B3)
Oral use studied only in high-risk dermatology patients (not a general skin benefit)
Oral 500 mg twice daily (1,000 mg/day) in the ONTRAC skin-cancer trial in high-risk patients;…
Watch
Moderate
NatAxtin™ (Chilean Astaxanthin — Stratum Nutrition)
Skin Health and UV Protection
4-12 mg/day astaxanthin (typical supplemental range)
Watch
Limited
VISPO™ (VI-SPO® Saw Palmetto CO₂ Oil)
Reduced hair fall in androgenetic alopecia (branded RCT)
Hair: 400 mg/day oral (and 20% topical, 5 mL/day). Prostate: 500 mg/day oral. General saw…
Watch
Moderate
Skin-Cera® (Konjac Glucosylceramides)
Skin hydration and barrier (indexed RCT)
Branded trial: 100 mg/day (delivering ~5 mg glucosylceramides) for 6 weeks. Oral ceramide…
Recommended Hair, Skin & Nails Products
Heads up: NutraSmarts may earn a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. We curate these picks based on the same evidence we cite throughout the page. Full disclosure.
Real products featuring the best-evidenced hair, skin & nails ingredients ranked above — chosen for clinically-studied forms and doses, third-party testing, and value. Match the supplement to your specific need.
Best for DHT-related hair thinning
Amazon →
NOW Foods Saw Palmetto Extract
Saw palmetto extract — 320 mg standardized
Saw palmetto is the most commonly used supplemental DHT modulator, working by inhibiting 5-alpha reductase, the enzyme that converts testosterone to DHT. NOW Foods uses the 320 mg standardized extract used in trials, rather than multi-ingredient blends that bury active doses in proprietary formulas. Effects build over 3 to 6 months.
Best when bloodwork shows low iron
Amazon →
Thorne Iron Bisglycinate
Iron bisglycinate (Ferrochel®) — 25 mg
Low iron stores are common, especially in women, and are worth checking before trying other things for thinning hair. Iron bisglycinate (Ferrochel®) is gentler on the stomach than ferrous sulfate. Take it only if bloodwork shows your levels are low, since too much iron is harmful.
Best for hair density (RCT-backed)
Amazon →
Vital Proteins Advanced Collagen + Verisol®
Verisol® bioactive collagen peptides
Contains Verisol® bioactive collagen peptides, the collagen form with clinical trial evidence specifically for hair thickness. A 16-week placebo-controlled trial in women aged 39 to 75 reported improved hair thickness at 2.5 g/day. That brand-specific evidence is what separates it from generic hair vitamins.
Best comprehensive formula (women 18-44)
Amazon →
Nutrafol Women's
Multi-ingredient formula — 21 actives
The #1 dermatologist-recommended hair growth supplement brand. The Women's formula targets root causes of thinning hair in women 18-44, including stress, lifestyle factors, and nutrient gaps. Contains a proprietary blend of 21 ingredients including saw palmetto, ashwagandha, marine collagen, and a clinically-studied biotin complex. Has multiple published clinical trials — more than most multi-ingredient hair formulas. Visible results typically take 3-6 months of consistent use.
All Hair, Skin & Nails Ingredients (108)
Very Strong
Niacin
Supports Skin Health
14–16 mg/day (RDA); lipid-lowering: 1,500–3,000 mg/day (extended-release niacin, unde
Very Strong
Vitamin C
Collagen Synthesis and Wound Healing
75–90 mg/day (RDA); immune/antioxidant: 200–500 mg/day; upper limit 2,000 mg/day; lip
Strong
AstaZine® (Natural Astaxanthin from Haematococcus pluvialis — BGG)
Skin Health and Photoprotection
4-12 mg/day AstaZine (research-validated; some applications 12-24 mg)
Moderate
Marine Collagen
Skin elasticity and hydration (Type I-rich)
Skin: marine collagen products are commonly taken at about 2.5 to 10 g/day. The cited knee trial used 5 g/day of collagen peptides, but its collagen source is not stated as marine.
Limited
DermaNiA® (Niacinamide for Skin Health — Sabinsa)
Non-melanoma skin cancer prevention
Oral 500 mg twice daily (1,000 mg/day) in the ONTRAC skin-cancer trial in high-risk patients; no oral trial has established a dose for general skin appearance.
Limited
Saw Palmetto
Hair Growth
160 mg twice daily (320 mg/day) standardized to 85–95% fatty acids; most studies use
Moderate
Skin-Cera®
Skin hydration and barrier (indexed RCT)
100 mg/day (~5 mg glucosylceramides)
Strong
Lutein
Skin photoprotection and elasticity
6–20 mg/day; AREDS2: 10 mg/day lutein + 2 mg zeaxanthin; eye health: 10–20 mg/day wit
Moderate
AstaReal® Astaxanthin
Skin health
Commonly 4 to 12 mg of astaxanthin per day.
Moderate
Zanthin® (Natural Astaxanthin)
Skin health
Commonly 4 to 12 mg of astaxanthin per day.
Limited
Beta-Carotene
Skin photoprotection
DIETARY: 1.8-2.4 mg/day average. WHOLE-FOOD MIXED CAROTENOIDS: safe. SYNTHETIC TRIAL
Strong
CoEnzyme Q10
Skin and exercise: not supported by the studies cited here
Heart failure: 100 mg 3×/day; migraine: 100-300 mg/day; statin muscle symptoms: 100-600 mg/day; all from trials in diagnosed conditions. Take with a fatty meal.
Strong
FloraGLO® Lutein (Kemin)
Skin photoprotection and screen-time blue light
AREDS2 standard: 10 mg lutein + 2 mg zeaxanthin/day. Cognitive: 12 mg/day. Skin/gener
Strong
Grape Seed Extract (OPC)
Collagen and elastin: laboratory findings only
100–400 mg/day standardized extract (≥95% OPCs); blood pressure: 150–300 mg/day MegaN
Strong
Vitamin E
Skin health
15 mg/day (RDA); therapeutic studies use 400–1,000 IU/day
Strong
Zinc
Skin Health
8 to 11 mg/day elemental zinc is the adult RDA; supplements provide 15 to 30 mg/day. The upper limit is 40 mg/day; doses above it, like the 50 mg/day used in trials, need medical guidance.
Moderate
Collagen
Skin elasticity, hydration, and wrinkle depth
Skin and joints: 2.5-10 g/day hydrolyzed collagen peptides. Bone support: 5 g/day. At
Moderate
Polypodium Leucotomos
Skin Protection Against UV Damage
Typically dosed at 240–480 mg/day
Moderate
Collactive® (Marine Collagen + Hyaluronic Acid)
Reduced deep-wrinkle count reported in a single manufacturer study (28 days)
2.5–10g/day marine collagen peptides + 40–200mg/day hyaluronic acid; Collactive® clin
Moderate
Pycnogenol® (French Maritime Pine Bark)
Skin elasticity and hydration
50–200 mg/day; cardiovascular: 100–200 mg/day; cognitive: 100 mg/day; athletic perfor
Moderate
Astaxanthin
Skin health and "internal sunscreen"
4 to 12 mg/day of astaxanthin from Haematococcus pluvialis; take with a fat-containing meal.
Limited
Evening Primrose Oil (Oenothera biennis)
Eczema and atopic dermatitis improvement
3–6 g/day EPO (providing 240–480 mg GLA); eczema: 4–8 g/day; PMS: 3–4 g/day; diabetic
Moderate
Lustriva® (Bonded Arginine Silicate + Magnesium Biotinate — Nutrition21)
Hair density and growth (one randomized trial)
160 mg/day Lustriva (the standard clinical and commercial dose), delivering 10 mg sil
Moderate
NatAxtin™ (Chilean Astaxanthin — Stratum Nutrition)
Skin Health and UV Protection
4-12 mg/day astaxanthin (typical supplemental range)
Moderate
Pumpkin Seed Oil (Cucurbita pepo)
Hair Growth (Androgenic Alopecia)
1-3 g/day pumpkin seed oil (typically 1,000-3,000 mg in capsules); 320-360 mg standar
Moderate
Setria® Glutathione
Skin Health (Trends — Not Statistically Significant in Primary RCT)
250–500 mg/day; 250 mg shown effective for increasing blood glutathione levels
Moderate
Zinc Picolinate
Skin/Acne Support
15–50 mg elemental zinc/day; for short-term immune/skin: up to 50 mg/day for 4–8 week
Limited
AstaBead® (Astaxanthin Beadlet)
Skin health
Commonly 4 to 12 mg of astaxanthin per day.
Limited
AstaSana™ (Natural Astaxanthin)
Skin health
Commonly 4 to 12 mg of astaxanthin per day.
Limited
Ferulic Acid
Skin photoprotection (topical)
Hyperlipidemia: 1,000 mg/day × 6 weeks (the best-studied protocol). Asian clinical do
Moderate
Colla-1000D® (Collagen Peptides)
Skin, hair, and nails
Commonly around 2.5 to 10 grams per day.
Moderate
Gotu Kola (Centella asiatica)
Skin Healing Support (Topical Use, Not Oral)
60-120 mg/day standardized extract (containing total triterpenes ~30%); whole herb 1-
Moderate
Hyaluronic Acid
Skin Health
Oral: 80–200 mg/day in knee studies; 120–240 mg/day in skin studies. Covers oral supplementation only; topical creams and intra-articular injections are separate products.
Moderate
L-OptiZinc® (Zinc Mono-L-Methionine — Lonza)
Skin Health and Wound Healing
10-30 mg elemental zinc/day (per L-OptiZinc product specification)
Moderate
Sea Buckthorn (Hippophae rhamnoides)
Skin Health (Topical and Oral)
1-3 g/day sea buckthorn oil (berry pulp or seed oil); berry powder 5-10 g/day; vitami
Moderate
Zinc Bisglycinate (Zinc Glycinate)
Skin and Wound Healing
15–30 mg elemental zinc/day for general supplementation; up to 50 mg for short-term t
Limited
Black Currant Seed Oil
Skin Health (Modest Evidence)
1-3 g black currant seed oil/day (providing ~150-600 mg GLA + modest SDA); RA trials
Limited
Lycopene
Skin photoprotection
8-21 mg/day food or supplement. CV/prostate: 15-45 mg/day. Bone (LycoRed): 8 mg/day.
Limited
ActriSave™
Hair follicle support and hair life cycle (manufacturer trial)
250 mg/day, 4.5–5.5% anthocyanins
Limited
ceratiq® (Phytoceramides for Skin Hydration)
Wrinkle score improved about one grade in a 12 week trial
30–200 mg/day phytoceramides; ceratiq® clinical dose per PLT Health Solutions specifi
Limited
Jojoba Oil
Pro-collagen III and hyaluronic acid synthesis (ex vivo skin)
TOPICAL: 100% pure jojoba 1-2×/day, OR 5-10% in cosmetics. CLAY+JOJOBA MASK: 2-3×/wee
Limited
Keratin (Cynatine HNS)
Hair improvements (single industry-funded RCT)
BEER 2014: 500 mg Cynatine HNS®/day in 2 caps × 90 days. Includes 7.5 mg Zn + 9 mg B3
Preliminary
LactoSporin
Reduction in acne severity
TOPICAL ONLY: 2% w/w cream BID to facial skin (Majeed 2020 acne × 21 d + Majeed 2023
Limited
VERISOL® (Bioactive Collagen Peptides — Gelita)
Skin elasticity improvement
2.5-5 g/day VERISOL® bioactive collagen peptides, taken as a single daily dose. Effec
Limited
AnaGain™ Nu
Reduced hair shedding and improved density (branded study)
100 mg/day oral
Limited
Cartidyss® (marine collagen peptides + chondroitin — InnoVactiv)
Supports skin smoothness and structure
500 mg/day for 90 days (skin)
Limited
Myoceram® (oral rice/corn ceramides — InnoVactiv)
Helps support the skin barrier
~30 mg/day (rice ceramides)
Limited
Nutroxsun® (Rosemary + Grapefruit Skin Protection)
Less UV-induced skin redness in one trial
100 to 250 mg/day taken daily; the single trial tested both doses and found no difference between them.
Limited
Silicon / Orthosilicic Acid
Skin, hair, and nail quality improvement
10–40 mg/day bioavailable silicon as ch-OSA®; dietary silicon: 20–50 mg/day from grai
Limited
Apfenol® (Apple Polyphenol Extract — ECA Healthcare)
Skin and cardiometabolic support
Commonly a few hundred milligrams of apple polyphenols per day.
Limited
Asta-Marine® (Marine Astaxanthin)
Skin health
Commonly 4 to 12 mg of astaxanthin per day.
Limited
Borage Oil (Starflower Oil)
Atopic Dermatitis / Eczema (Not Supported)
Consumer products supply 1-3 g borage oil a day, about 240-720 mg GLA. The rheumatoid arthritis trials used far more, 1.4 to 1.8 g GLA a day, roughly 6 to 8 g of oil.
Limited
Cosmythic® (Maritime Pine Bark for Skin — Purextract)
Skin beauty support
Commonly around 50 to 100 mg per day.
Preliminary
DracoBelle™ Nu
Skin hydration and density (manufacturer trial)
100 mg/day for 12 weeks
Limited
FenuKale™ Nu
Skin moisture and barrier in a polluted environment (branded RCT)
350 mg/day for 56 days
Limited
Hemp Seed Oil
Skin Health (Topical and Oral)
1-2 tablespoons (15-30 mL) daily; provides ~2-4 g ALA, ~7-10 g LA, ~0.4-0.8 g GLA
Limited
Hi-Omega-7® (Palmitoleic Acid Omega-7)
Skin barrier support
Around 200 to 400 mg of palmitoleic acid per day.
Limited
L-Cysteine
Hair, Skin, and Nails
500–1,500 mg/day for hair/skin support; for glutathione support, NAC (600–1,200 mg/da
Limited
MintyBright™ Nu
Skin brightening / more even tone (manufacturer trial)
150 mg/day for 12 weeks
Limited
Naticol® (Marine Fish Collagen Peptides — Weishardt)
Skin elasticity and hydration
Skin applications: 5 g/day Naticol® collagen peptides. Joint comfort: 5-10 g/day. Bon
Limited
SelectSIEVE® Apple PCQ (Apple Polyphenols)
Skin condition
Around 300 mg of apple polyphenols per day in studies.
Limited
VeriSperse® (Stabilized Astaxanthin)
Skin Health: Not Supported by Any Study Cited Here
4-12 mg/day of astaxanthin is the common range; no cited study compared VeriSperse with standard astaxanthin, so its absorption advantage is unverified here.
Limited
VISPO™ (VI-SPO® Saw Palmetto)
Reduced hair fall in androgenetic alopecia (branded RCT)
400 mg/day oral, ≥85% fatty acids
Strong
Omega-3 Fatty Acids
Skin — atopic dermatitis, psoriasis, and acne
1–3 g/day combined EPA+DHA for general health; 2–4 g/day for triglyceride reduction (
Limited
ActivAloe® (Standardized Aloe Vera — Aloecorp)
Skin support
Per the product specification.
Limited
Eternalyoung® (Botanical Skin-Aging Blend — Monteloeder)
Skin appearance
About 225 mg per day.
Preliminary
Melagenol® (Oral Skin-Tone Botanical)
Even skin tone
Per the product specification.
Limited
NaturSYN® Beaulixir (Hair and Skin Botanical Blend — ROELMI)
Hair support
Around 600 mg per day.
Limited
Oligonol® (Lychee + Green Tea Polyphenol — Amino Up)
Skin health and anti-aging effects
Visceral fat protocol: 200 mg/day Oligonol® (50 mg twice daily) for 10 weeks. Periphe
Limited
SOD B Dimpless® (Melon Superoxide Dismutase)
Skin smoothness
Around 10 mg (about 140 IU of SOD) per day.
Limited
Squalene
Skin barrier protection and emollient (topical squalene/squalane)
CV: 860 mg/day × 20 wk hypercholesterolemia. STRANDBERG 1990: 900 mg/day. PK: 500 mg
Limited
Zinc Citrate
Zinc's Role in Skin (Not Tested Here)
15 to 30 mg elemental zinc per day is the usual supplement range; the adult upper limit is 40 mg per day.
Moderate
Bovine Collagen
Skin: the only cited study is in rats
Cited studies used 2.5 g/day of a branded peptide (VERISOL), about 10 g/day for knee osteoarthritis, and 15 g/day with resistance training; no cited study tested it for tendon or bone.
Limited
Calendula (Pot Marigold)
Skin repair support, applied topically (one small trial)
Topical only. Ointment or gel 2 to 5 percent applied to the skin 2 to 4 times a day. No established oral dose; no cited trial tested swallowing calendula.
Limited
HairAge® (Hair Health Support)
Hairline recession reduction
Per Saanroo product specification
Preliminary
Bakuchi (Bakuchiol)
Well tolerated on sensitive skin in a small open label study
The only tested dose was a 0.5% bakuchiol cream applied to the face twice a day for 12 weeks. No oral dose has been tested here, and oral raw seed is not advisable.
Preliminary
Eclipta Alba / Bhringraj
Hair Growth Promotion (Mostly Animal Evidence)
No human dose is established by anything cited here: the hair study applied an extract to mouse skin and the liver study used rats and mice. Commonly quoted figures do not trace to a human study.
Preliminary
Tea Tree Oil
Mild-to-moderate acne treatment
TOPICAL ACNE: 5% TTO gel 1-2×/day. DANDRUFF: 5% shampoo daily. ORAL/PERIODONTITIS: 0.
Preliminary
Tremella fuciformis (Snow Mushroom / Silver Ear Fungus)
Skin hydration: supplier testing of a topical, not a published trial
No dose has been established in human trials; labels commonly suggest 1 to 3 g of dried fruiting body or 500 to 1,000 mg of extract daily.
Moderate
Pantothenic Acid
Studied for Mild Acne in One Small Trial
Adequate Intake: 5 mg/day for adults; the acne trial used 2.2 g/day of a multi-ingredient pantothenic acid-based supplement, roughly 440 times that.
Preliminary
LingonMax® (Lingonberry Extract — BGG)
Pigment enzyme work in the laboratory (not a human result)
Per BGG LingonMax product specification
Preliminary
SelectSIEVE® Rainbow (Black Rice & Citrus Polyphenol Complex — Roelmi HPC)
Beauty-from-within skin support
300 mg/day
Preliminary
Xorialyc® (Olive Leaf Extract for Skin Inflammation)
Skin Redness Reduction
300 mg/day (research-validated dose)
Preliminary
ApPhenols (Apple Polyphenols)
Skin pigmentation after UV exposure: one small sponsor run trial of another brand
300 mg/day and 600 mg/day for 12 weeks were used in the single human trial, which tested a different company's apple polyphenol. No dose of this branded extract has been tested here.
Preliminary
Astrion® (NuLiv Science Beauty-From-Within)
Skin hydration and moisture retention
Per Astrion® product specifications; NuLiv Science beauty-from-within dosing data
Preliminary
Cnidium (She Chuang Zi)
Skin conditions — eczema, dermatitis, fungal infections (topical)
TCM ORAL: 3-9 g raw fruit decoction OR 100-500 mg/day standardized extract (10-30% os
Preliminary
L-Proline
Collagen Synthesis
Typically as part of collagen supplementation (10-15 g/day collagen provides ~1.5 g p
Preliminary
PhytoCellTec™ Md Nu
Marketed for skin vitality from within
Low daily serving
Preliminary
Polygonum multiflorum / Reynoutria multiflora (He Shou Wu / Fo-Ti)
Traditional anti-aging and hair-blackening claims (TCM)
About 5 g/day of raw root and 5 to 15 g/day of the processed root per the Chinese Pharmacopoeia; liver injury has been linked to higher doses and long-term use.
Moderate
Neem (Azadirachta indica)
Skin Conditions (Topical/Traditional Use — Not From Oral Neem)
PINGALI 2020 T2DM: 125/250/500 mg standardized neem BID = 250-1000 mg/day × 12 wk + m
Limited
Luravida® (Cranberry Omega-3 Oil — AHD International)
Skin Health Applications
Per AHD Luravida product specification (typical 1-3 g/day)
Limited
Silk Amino Acids / Silk Fibroin Hydrolysate
Cognitive function support — memory, attention, mental focus
Cognitive: 200-600 mg/day of silk fibroin enzyme hydrolysate; the one stamina trial used far more, 500 mg per kilogram of body mass a day (about 35 g for a 70 kg athlete).
Preliminary
BiAloe® (Aloe Vera Polysaccharides)
Skin support
Commonly a few hundred milligrams per day, near the 500 mg per day of a different aloe inner-leaf extract used in the irritable bowel studies.
Preliminary
BiovaDerm® (Water-Soluble Eggshell Membrane for Skin — Biova)
Skin support
Commonly around 300 to 500 mg per day.
Preliminary
Collamex® (Collagen Peptides)
Skin support
Commonly around 2.5 to 10 grams per day.
Preliminary
CyanthOx™ (Sea Buckthorn Proanthocyanidin Extract)
Cardiovascular and skin claims — mechanism-level
500 mg CyanthOx 30 (~150 mg proanthocyanidins); commercial products 100-500 mg/day. The 500 mg came from a single acute dose; no daily-dosing trial of this extract has been published.
Preliminary
DMAE (Dimethylaminoethanol / Deanol)
Topical skin firming (cosmetic applications)
ADHD HISTORICAL: 500 mg/day in 1970s pediatric trials. NOOTROPIC: 100-200 mg/day. ELD
Preliminary
L-Lysine
A building block the body uses for collagen
Commonly sold at 500 to 3,000 mg a day. Cold-sore users typically take 1,000 to 3,000 mg a day, but the review cited found no evidence lysine prevents cold sores.
Preliminary
L-Methionine
Sulfur for keratin (no clinical evidence cited)
About 500 to 1,000 mg per day on supplement labels; no cited study tested a dose for general health in healthy people, and excess methionine may be harmful.
Preliminary
L-Threonine
Collagen and Elastin Synthesis
The single cited human trial used 4.5 to 6.0 g/day in 18 patients with a rare inherited nerve condition, not healthy people; dietary needs are roughly 10 to 20 mg per kg of body weight per day.
Moderate
Saberry® (Amla / Indian Gooseberry — Sabinsa)
Fasting blood sugar lowered in an open-label diabetes trial
Per Sabinsa product specification (typical 250-500 mg/day)
Limited
Acerola Cherry
Better vitamin C retention in one small single-dose study (n=6)
UCHIDA 2011 BIOAVAILABILITY: 50 mg vit C from acerola juice. COMMERCIAL: 100-500 mg p
Preliminary
Arnica (Arnica montana)
Topical arnica gel for bruising — modest effect
TOPICAL (recommended): 20% tincture or 10-25% gel 2-4×/day. OTC: Arnicare®, Traumeel®
Limited
Glabridin (Licorice Isoflavone)
LDL oxidation reduction (6-month trial)
Licorice-root extract with ~60 mg/day glabridin (LDL oxidation); licorice flavonoid oil 300–900 mg/day (body fat). No established pure-glabridin human dose.
Limited
Lactobacillus salivarius (Multi-Strain)
Caries risk reduction (WB21)
Oral health (WB21): 2.0×10⁹ CFU/day; periodontal (CP3365): three tablets a day, 4.4 billion cells each, heat-killed. Match strain to indication.
Preliminary
Cosmoperine® (Tetrahydropiperine — Sabinsa)
Topical / Cosmetic Penetration Enhancement
Topical application per cosmetic formulation specification
Preliminary
Glycyrrhizina (Licorice Flavonoids — BGG)
The H. pylori figure is not supported here
No oral dose here is backed by a cited reference; for licorice containing glycyrrhizin, about 10 mg/day of glycyrrhizic acid is a safe intake and 400 mg/day causes adverse effects in most people.
Preliminary
Lysozyme (Salivary Antimicrobial Enzyme)
Tooth surface stain removal toothpaste 8-week RCT
Toothpaste twice daily or lozenge one tablet three times daily, both mouth-only routes spat out or dissolved; there is no established swallowed dose for lysozyme as a supplement.