Opextan® (Verbascoside-Rich Olive Fruit Extract — Indena)

Olea europaea
Evidence Level
Preliminary
3 Clinical Trials
7 Documented Benefits
1/5 Evidence Score

Opextan is Indena's water-soluble extract of olive (Olea europaea) fruit pulp from a single Italian olive variety, developed with Kanebo Cosmetics and standardized to at least 10 percent total polyphenols, 2 to 3.5 percent verbascoside and at least 4.5 percent hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives. Indena sells it for oral 'beauty from within' supplements at 100 to 400 mg a day as well as for creams. One small published human trial has tested it by mouth: in 15 adults treated for high blood pressure whose fasting glucose was borderline, fasting glucose fell within the group taking 100 mg a day for 12 weeks, but no between-group test was reported and HbA1c did not change. Its skin claims rest on small studies run by the maker (a 13-man UV sensitivity study, a 19-person oxidation marker study and two face-cream studies), three of them summarized only in a short paper by Indena-linked authors in an Italian dermatology journal that PubMed does not index, plus laboratory work on verbascoside.

Studied Dose 100 to 400 mg a day by mouth (Indena's recommendation). The one published trial used 100 mg a day for 12 weeks; the maker-reported skin and oxidation studies used 160 mg and 400 mg a day for 4 weeks.
Active Compound Olea europaea (olive) fruit pulp extract (Opextan), double-standardized to at least 10.0 percent total polyphenols, 2.0 to 3.5 percent verbascoside (acteoside) and at least 4.5 percent hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives; also contains tyrosol and isoacteoside.

Benefits

Skin sensitivity to UV light (single small trial, maker-reported)

In a 4-week study, 13 men with UV-sensitive skin took 160 mg a day. A short summary paper by Indena-linked authors reports that the UV dose needed to redden the skin rose 14.5 percent and tolerated exposure time 14.1 percent versus placebo; Indena's brochure gives 16.45 percent versus baseline. Group sizes and full data are not available, and it is no substitute for sunscreen.

Fasting blood glucose: one small 12-week trial

In a randomized, double-blind trial in 15 adults on blood pressure medication with borderline fasting glucose, 8 took 100 mg a day of Indena's olive fruit extract (cited by Indena as Opextan) and 7 took olive oil placebo for 12 weeks. Fasting glucose fell from 116.6 to 105.8 mg/dL with the extract (p = 0.042) but not with placebo; no between-group test was reported, the extract group started higher, and HbA1c did not change.

Urinary oxidation marker (maker-reported, no control group described)

In 19 healthy volunteers taking 400 mg a day for 4 weeks, urinary 8-isoprostane, a marker of lipid peroxidation, fell from baseline: by 36.4 percent in a summary paper by Indena-linked authors and by 47 percent in Indena's brochure, whose chart shows several people rose. No control group is described. In the 12-week trial at 100 mg a day, the DNA oxidation marker 8-OHdG did not change.

Verbascoside antioxidant activity (in vitro only)

Verbascoside is the polyphenol Opextan is standardized to. In test-tube assays it was more active than caffeic acid or hydroxytyrosol in some antioxidant tests, while a phenol mixture and whole olive extracts protected DNA from oxidation better than single compounds (PMID 19099401). Indena's own assay rates it about 5 times more active than oleuropein. Activity in a test tube does not show an antioxidant effect in the body.

UV damage in skin cells (in vitro only)

In vitro, verbascoside made in cultured lilac cells protected human keratinocytes from UV-C induced necrosis, though not from apoptosis (PMID 18404597), and an oleuropein, hydroxytyrosol and verbascoside mix reduced UVB-induced inflammatory and collagen-breakdown markers in skin cells (PMID 41266576). Neither study used Opextan or olive fruit extract, and neither tested oral intake.

Topical face studies (not evidence for capsules)

Indena reports two studies of Opextan applied to the face: a 0.5 percent formula on half the face of 6 volunteers lowered sebum lipid peroxidation after sun exposure by about 27 percent versus the placebo side, and a 2.5 percent formula used twice daily for 3 months by 23 men improved skin roughness on replicas versus a blank formula. Neither is in a PubMed-indexed journal, and creams say nothing about capsules.

Blood pressure and cholesterol: no change in the one trial

In the 12-week trial at 100 mg a day, blood pressure, total and HDL cholesterol, triglycerides and liver enzymes did not change significantly, though every participant was already taking blood pressure medication. No study has tested Opextan for heart health, and a concentrated extract is not the same as olive oil eaten as part of a Mediterranean diet.

Mechanism of action

1

Verbascoside free radical scavenging

Verbascoside (also called acteoside) is a phenylethanoid glycoside that scavenges hydroxyl, superoxide and nitric oxide radicals, chelates iron and copper ions and inhibits lipid peroxidation in laboratory work (PMID 18404597). Whether this happens in human tissue after swallowing a capsule has not been shown.

2

Polyphenol mixture (laboratory hypothesis)

Opextan contains verbascoside, hydroxytyrosol, tyrosol and isoacteoside together. In test-tube assays some olive phenol mixtures and whole extracts protected DNA from oxidation better than single compounds (PMID 19099401), and a three-compound mix reduced UVB damage markers in skin cells (PMID 41266576). No study has compared the blend with single compounds in people.

3

Skin barrier (animal data only)

The proposed idea is that olive polyphenols limit oxidative damage to skin lipids. Indena reports that verbascoside given by mouth reduced UVB-induced water loss through the skin and wrinkle formation in hairless mice, but no human study of oral Opextan has measured skin barrier function.

4

UV-induced oxidative stress

UV light generates reactive oxygen species that damage skin cells, and in a dish verbascoside and related olive polyphenols reduce that damage (PMID 18404597, PMID 41266576). The only human oral data are the maker-reported 13-man UV sensitivity study, which has not been independently published. Do not rely on Opextan for sun protection.

5

Alpha-glucosidase inhibition (proposed glucose mechanism)

Indena reports that the extract inhibits the carbohydrate-digesting enzyme alpha-glucosidase in a test tube, and the trial authors proposed this, plus better insulin secretion, to explain the lower fasting glucose. In the trial itself, insulin resistance (HOMA-IR) did not change and the rise in the insulin secretion index (HOMA-beta) was not significant.

Clinical trials

1
Opextan and Skin UV Sensitivity, 4 Weeks in 13 Men (maker study)
PubMed

Oral study: 13 men with high sensitivity to UV light took 160 mg a day of Opextan for 4 weeks, then the back was exposed to graded UVA plus UVB doses. The paper's abstract and Indena's Japanese brochure call it placebo-controlled, while Indena's English page says Opextan "or not". Published only as one of three short studies in a paper by Indena-linked authors in an Italian dermatology journal not indexed in PubMed; only the abstract was available to check. (Togni et al. 2015, Esperienze Dermatologiche)

13 men selected for high sensitivity to UV light; how they were split between Opextan and placebo, and their ages, are not stated in the material available.

The paper's abstract reports that the minimal erythemal dose, the smallest UV dose that reddens the skin, rose 14.5 percent and the tolerated UV exposure time 14.1 percent versus placebo; Indena's brochure instead reports a 16.45 percent rise from baseline (p < 0.01). The figures differ between sources, and individual data and side effect information were not available, so the size of any effect cannot be judged.

2
Opextan and Urinary 8-Isoprostane, 4 Weeks in 19 Volunteers (no control)
PubMed

Before-and-after study: healthy volunteers took 400 mg a day of Opextan for 4 weeks, and urinary 8-isoprostane, a lipid peroxidation marker, was measured at the start and end. No control group is described in Indena's Japanese brochure or in the abstract of the summary paper by Indena-linked authors, which appeared in an Italian dermatology journal not indexed in PubMed. (Togni et al. 2015, Esperienze Dermatologiche)

19 healthy volunteers (number from Indena's brochure); sex and age are not stated.

The paper's abstract reports a 36.4 percent fall in urinary 8-isoprostane, while Indena's brochure reports 47 percent (p < 0.05), and the brochure's own chart shows that several participants rose. Without a control group, a fall from baseline cannot be separated from chance or regression toward the mean. No side effects are described; the published 12-week trial paper mentions a 28-day human test at 400 mg a day with no adverse events.

3
Olive Fruit Polyphenol Extract and Fasting Glucose, 12-Week RCT
PubMed

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled parallel trial in hospital outpatients in Japan. The extract, called OPDEX in the paper and made by Indena from Coratina olives (about 10 percent polyphenols, 3.2 percent acteoside, 2.9 percent hydroxytyrosol), was given as two 50 mg soft capsules daily after breakfast; placebo was olive oil capsules. Indena cites this trial for Opextan. Three of the four authors worked for Kanebo Cosmetics, Opextan's co-developer, though the paper declares no conflicts. Not PubMed-indexed. (Suzuki et al. 2011, Ningen Dock)

15 outpatients of Mitsui Memorial Hospital treated for high blood pressure (with an ARB, a calcium channel blocker or both) whose fasting glucose was in the borderline range; 9 men and 6 women, mean age 63; 8 took the extract and 7 placebo.

Fasting glucose fell from 116.6 to 105.8 mg/dL within the extract group (p = 0.042) and did not change with placebo (107.3 to 109.3 mg/dL); no between-group test of this change is reported, and the extract group started higher. HbA1c, insulin, HOMA-IR, HOMA-beta, urinary 8-OHdG, blood pressure and blood lipids did not change. No adverse events occurred, and the authors note the sample was small.

Side effects and drug interactions

Common Potential side effects

No adverse events were reported in the 12-week trial of 100 mg a day (15 adults), and that paper mentions an earlier 28-day test at 400 mg a day in people with no adverse events and a 28-day rat study with no adverse effects at 1,000 mg/kg a day. These studies are far too small or short to rule out uncommon side effects.
Indena declared Opextan self-affirmed GRAS in 2012 for use in foods at up to 1,062 mg per person per day. Self-affirmed means the company and its experts made this determination; it is not an FDA approval.
Ecocert validated for cosmetic use, which is a certification for creams and lotions and says nothing about safety or effectiveness when swallowed.
Eating olives has a long dietary history, but a concentrated standardized extract is not the same as food, and its long-term safety has not been tested in any study cited here.
Safety in pregnancy and breastfeeding has not been studied for concentrated olive fruit extracts, which are not equivalent to eating olives or olive oil. If you are pregnant, nursing, or take prescription medication, talk to your healthcare provider first.

Important Drug interactions

Diabetes medication: in one small trial, fasting glucose fell within the extract group; no interaction studies exist. If you take glucose-lowering medication, talk to your doctor and monitor your levels.
Blood pressure medication: everyone in the one trial took an ARB, a calcium channel blocker or both, and blood pressure did not change, but this was not an interaction study. Tell your doctor before combining.
Anticoagulant or antiplatelet medication: no interaction or bleeding studies exist for Opextan; ask your doctor before combining.
Sunscreen: do not reduce your sunscreen use because you are taking this. The only oral UV study is a small maker-run study of skin reddening, which does not show protection comparable to sunscreen.

Frequently asked questions about Opextan® (Verbascoside-Rich Olive Fruit Extract — Indena)

What is Opextan?

Opextan is Indena's water-soluble extract of olive (Olea europaea) fruit pulp from a single Italian olive variety, developed with Kanebo Cosmetics and standardized to at least 10 percent total polyphenols, 2 to 3.5 percent verbascoside and at least 4.5 percent hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives.

What is Opextan used for?

Opextan is researched primarily for Hair, Skin & Nails and Metabolic Health. In a 4-week study, 13 men with UV-sensitive skin took 160 mg a day. A short summary paper by Indena-linked authors reports that the UV dose needed to redden the skin rose 14.5 percent and tolerated exposure time 14.

What is the recommended dosage of Opextan?

The clinically studied dose is 100 to 400 mg a day by mouth (Indena's recommendation). The one published trial used 100 mg a day for 12 weeks; the maker-reported skin and oxidation studies used 160 mg and 400 mg a day for 4 weeks. Always follow the product label and check with a healthcare provider for personal advice.

Is Opextan safe, and does it have side effects?

Side effects and cautions reported for Opextan include: No adverse events were reported in the 12-week trial of 100 mg a day (15 adults), and that paper mentions an earlier 28-day test at 400 mg a day in people with no adverse events and a 28-day rat study with no adverse effects at 1,000 mg/kg a day. It may also interact with some medications. Opextan is not right for everyone, so check with a healthcare provider first if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, have a medical condition, or take prescription medication.

Does Opextan interact with any medications?

Possible interactions include: Diabetes medication: in one small trial, fasting glucose fell within the extract group; no interaction studies exist. If you take glucose-lowering medication, talk to your doctor and monitor your levels. If you take prescription medication, check with a pharmacist or doctor before using it.

How strong is the scientific evidence for Opextan?

NutraSmarts rates the evidence for Opextan as Preliminary (1 out of 5). It is backed by 3 study summaries and 9 cited references summarized on this page. A higher rating reflects more, larger, and better-designed human studies.

References(9 citations)

Evidence ratings on NutraSmarts are based on the totality of human clinical research, with emphasis on randomized controlled trials, meta-analyses, and systematic reviews. The references below directly support claims made throughout this page.

  1. Kostyuk V, Potapovich A, Suhan T, De Luca C, Pressi G, Dal Toso R, Korkina L. Plant polyphenols against UV-C-induced cellular death. Planta Med. 2008;74(5):509-14. doi: 10.1055/s-2008-1074499.PubMedUsed to support: In vitro only. Verbascoside produced in cultured cells of lilac (Syringa vulgaris), not from olives or Opextan, was compared with rutin and quercetin in human keratinocytes (HaCaT) and MCF-7 cells. All three polyphenols protected against UV-C induced necrosis but not apoptosis, and protection tracked lipid peroxidation inhibition and iron chelation rather than UV absorbance. Not a human study.
  2. Wang J, Yuan M, Li Q, Shen C, Zhang X, Zhu C, Cen Q. Combined protection against UVB-induced photoaging by oleuropein, hydroxytyrosol, and verbascoside through modulation of inflammation, oxidative stress, and collagen homeostasis. Sci Rep. 2025;15(1):41008. doi: 10.1038/s41598-025-24845-4.PubMedUsed to support: In vitro only. A combination of oleuropein, hydroxytyrosol and verbascoside, described as olive leaf polyphenols (not Opextan, a fruit extract), reduced senescence, inflammatory and collagen-degradation markers in UVB-irradiated human dermal fibroblasts and HaCaT keratinocytes, via MAPK and NF-kB suppression and Nrf2 upregulation. No oral or human data.
  3. Suzuki K, Uchiwa H, Ikemoto T, Yamakado M. Effect of Olive Polyphenol Dry Extract on Glucose Metabolism in Subjects with Hypertension. Ningen Dock (Official Journal of Japan Society of Ningen Dock). 2011;25(5):825-830. doi: 10.11320/ningendock.25.825. In Japanese with English abstract; not indexed in PubMed..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed (read in full on J-STAGE). Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 15 outpatients treated for high blood pressure with borderline fasting glucose: 100 mg a day of Indena's olive fruit polyphenol extract (OPDEX, which Indena cites as Opextan) for 12 weeks lowered fasting glucose within the extract group (116.6 to 105.8 mg/dL, p = 0.042, n = 8) with no change on olive oil placebo (n = 7); no between-group test reported; HbA1c, insulin indexes, 8-OHdG, blood pressure and lipids unchanged; no adverse events. Three authors worked for Kanebo Cosmetics.
  4. Obied HK, Prenzler PD, Konczak I, Rehman AU, Robards K. Chemistry and bioactivity of olive biophenols in some antioxidant and antiproliferative in vitro bioassays. Chem Res Toxicol. 2009;22(1):227-34. doi: 10.1021/tx8004168.PubMedUsed to support: In vitro only; the paper Indena cites for calling verbascoside the most potent olive antioxidant. Verbascoside was more active than caffeic acid or hydroxytyrosol in some antioxidant bioassays, and a hydroxytyrosol and caffeic acid mixture and olive mill waste extracts protected DNA from oxidative damage better than single compounds. Did not test Opextan.
  5. Indena S.p.A. Opextan olive fruit extract: product specification sheet (US). Indena (manufacturer document). 2025;Document DPR 0188, 10/2025. Not PubMed-indexed..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed; manufacturer document. States the standardization (at least 10.0 percent total polyphenols, 2.0 to 3.5 percent verbascoside, at least 4.5 percent hydroxytyrosol and derivatives), that Opextan can be taken orally (100 to 400 mg a day) or used topically (0.5 to 2 percent) in beauty and skin-health supplements, and lists its human evidence as two 2006 Italian trade-journal papers and the 2011 Ningen Dock glucose trial.
  6. Indena S.p.A. Opextan: See through science. Indena website. 2026;Accessed 3 October 2026. Not PubMed-indexed..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed; manufacturer's summary. Describes an oral study in 13 men with UV-sensitive skin given 160 mg a day of Opextan or not (minimal erythemal dose 16.45 percent higher than baseline), a topical study in which Opextan lowered sebum fluorescence, a lipid peroxidation measure, by 27.1 percent after sunlight, and the 15-person 12-week glucose trial.
  7. Indena Japan. Opextan product brochure (Japanese). Indena (manufacturer document). 2013;In Japanese. Document DPR 0129, 09/2008, revised 10/2013 (file posted 2021). Accessed 3 October 2026. Not PubMed-indexed..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed; manufacturer document. Describes three oral studies (13 men, 160 mg a day for 4 weeks, placebo-controlled, minimal erythemal dose up 16.45 percent, p < 0.01; 19 healthy volunteers, 400 mg a day for 4 weeks, urinary 8-isoprostane down 47 percent, p < 0.05; the 12-week glucose trial, with 50 mg Opextan per capsule), two topical half-face studies (6 volunteers, 0.5 percent; 23 men, 2.5 percent for 3 months), mouse studies of oral verbascoside, a DPPH assay rating verbascoside 5 times more active than oleuropein, and a recommended oral dose of 160 mg a day.
  8. SupplySide Supplement Journal. Indena Olive Extract Self-Affirmed GRAS. SupplySide Supplement Journal. 2012;Published 25 October 2012. Trade press; not PubMed-indexed..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed; trade press. Reports that Indena's Opextan olive fruit extract achieved self-affirmed GRAS status for use in foods such as bakery products, beverages, milk products and processed juices at up to 1,062 mg per person per day.
  9. Togni S, Maramaldi G, Conte C, Milano E, Giacomelli L. Photoprotective and antioxidant effects of a standardised olive (Olea europaea) extract in healthy volunteers. Esperienze Dermatologiche. 2015;17(4):143-148. Edizioni Minerva Medica. No DOI found; not indexed in PubMed (Scopus 2-s2.0-85043419485)..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed; abstract read in the San Raffaele University repository record (full text not seen). Reports three small studies of Opextan in healthy volunteers: 400 mg a day by mouth for 28 days lowered urinary 8-isoprostane by 36.4 percent; Opextan applied to the skin lowered UV-induced lipid peroxidation by 27.1 percent versus placebo; 160 mg a day by mouth for 28 days raised the minimal erythemal dose by 14.5 percent and the time to UV exposure by 14.1 percent versus placebo. Togni and Maramaldi are disclosed as Indena employees in their other papers.