Hawthorn (Crataegus spp.)

Crataegus monogyna / laevigata / oxyacantha
Evidence Level
Limited
7 Clinical Trials
3 Documented Benefits
2/5 Evidence Score

Hawthorn (Crataegus species) is a thorny shrub whose leaves, flowers and berries have a long history of use in European herbal tradition for the heart. Extracts are usually standardized to oligomeric procyanidins (OPCs) and flavonoids such as vitexin and hyperoside; the most studied is the leaf and flower extract WS 1442. In placebo-controlled trials, mostly in people with heart failure on standard medicines, older and smaller studies found better exercise tolerance and symptom scores, but the two largest found no reduction in cardiac events and no gain in walking distance. In one 16-week blood pressure trial, diastolic pressure fell 2.6 mmHg on hawthorn and rose 0.5 mmHg on placebo. The EU monograph accepts only traditional use, and the EMA found the heart use not proven. Hawthorn is not a substitute for medical care of a heart condition.

Studied Dose Leaf and flower extract 160 to 1,800 mg/day in heart trials (WS 1442 900 mg/day in the two largest); 250 to 1,200 mg/day in blood pressure trials. EU traditional-use dose for comparable dry extracts: 240 to 900 mg/day.
Active Compound Oligomeric procyanidins (OPCs) and flavonoids, mainly glycosides such as vitexin, vitexin-2''-rhamnoside, isovitexin, hyperoside and quercetin. The most studied extract, WS 1442, is a leaf and flower dry extract (DER 4 to 6.6:1, ethanol 45% m/m) standardized to 18.75% OPCs.

Benefits

Exercise tolerance and heart-related symptom scores

In a pooled analysis of 10 placebo-controlled trials (855 people with chronic heart failure, mostly also on standard medicines), leaf and flower extract raised maximal workload by about 5 watts and eased shortness of breath and fatigue. One 209-person trial saw a larger workload gain at 1,800 than at 900 mg/day. A later 6-month, 120-person trial found no gain in walking distance or quality of life.

Cardiac event rates over two years alongside standard medicines

In a 2-year trial of 2,681 adults with heart failure and reduced pumping function, 900 mg/day of WS 1442 did not lengthen time to a first cardiac event (27.9% vs 28.9% had one), and the lower cardiac death rate was not statistically significant. A later analysis of a 6-month trial found overall worsening was similar, but early worsening was more common with the extract.

Diastolic blood pressure alongside prescribed medicines

In a 16-week trial in 79 adults with type 2 diabetes, most already on blood pressure drugs, 1,200 mg/day lowered diastolic pressure from 85.6 to 83.0 mmHg, while it rose from 84.5 to 85.0 mmHg on placebo; systolic pressure did not differ. Pooling 6 small placebo-controlled trials (428 people) gave systolic pressure about 6.7 mmHg lower, with no significant diastolic difference.

Mechanism of action

1

Stronger heart muscle contraction in lab tissue

In strips of failing human heart muscle removed at transplant, WS 1442 raised the force of contraction to about 130% of baseline in the lab. Lab studies suggest it partly blocks the sodium potassium pump and phosphodiesterase, raising calcium in heart cells; one study found no effect on adenylate cyclase. These are test-tube findings, not effects shown with capsules.

2

Blood vessel relaxation through nitric oxide in isolated vessels

In artery rings from bypass patients, the extract relaxed the vessel, but not when nitric oxide production was blocked or the vessel lining was removed, and it released nitric oxide from human coronary artery cells. In people, however, 1,000 to 2,500 mg/day for 3.5 days did not change flow-mediated dilation, a nitric oxide dependent test of vessel function.

3

Heart protection in rat models

In rats given leaf and flower extract by mouth for 7 days before a blocked coronary artery, 100 mg/kg/day cut ventricular fibrillation (67% to 27%) and death (47% to 9%) and shrank the damaged area. In rats with long-term pressure overload, the extract did not lower deaths. These animal results have not been shown in people.

Clinical trials

1
Hawthorn Extract in Chronic Heart Failure: Pooled Placebo-Controlled Trials
PubMed

Cochrane systematic review of double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trials of hawthorn leaf and flower extract taken by mouth; 14 trials met inclusion criteria and 10 provided data for pooling. (Pittler et al. 2008, Cochrane Database Syst Rev)

855 patients with chronic heart failure (NYHA classes I to III) in the pooled trials; in most studies hawthorn was added to conventional treatment.

Maximal workload rose by 5.35 watts more than placebo (95% CI 0.71 to 10.00, 380 patients); exercise tolerance and the pressure-heart rate product also improved, and shortness of breath and fatigue scores fell. Cardiac events were not reported except deaths in one trial (3 on hawthorn, 1 on placebo). Reported side effects were infrequent, mild and transient.

2
SPICE: WS 1442 for 24 Months Added to Standard Heart Failure Medicines
PubMed

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled multicenter trial of WS 1442 900 mg/day or placebo for 24 months; primary endpoint was time to first cardiac event. (Holubarsch et al. 2008, Eur J Heart Fail)

2,681 adults with NYHA class II or III heart failure and left ventricular ejection fraction of 35% or less (1,338 extract, 1,343 placebo).

The primary endpoint did not differ: average time to first cardiac event was 620 vs 606 days, with event rates of 27.9% vs 28.9% (HR 0.95, p=0.476). The trend toward fewer cardiac deaths was not statistically significant (HR 0.89, p=0.269). In a subgroup with ejection fraction of 25% or more, sudden cardiac death was lower (HR 0.59, p=0.025), a secondary finding. Adverse events were comparable in both groups.

3
HERB CHF: Hawthorn 450 mg Twice Daily for 6 Months in Heart Failure
PubMed

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled NIH-supported trial (NCT00343902) of hawthorn 450 mg twice daily (WS 1442) added to conventional medical therapy; primary outcome was change in 6-minute walk distance. (Zick et al. 2009, Eur J Heart Fail)

120 ambulatory adults with NYHA class II or III chronic heart failure.

Change in 6-minute walk distance did not differ from placebo (p=0.61), nor did quality of life, functional capacity, neurohormones or blood markers. Ejection fraction differed slightly in favor of hawthorn (p=0.04). More adverse events were reported on hawthorn (p=0.02), most not heart-related. A later retrospective analysis of this trial found heart failure progression in 46.6% vs 43.3% overall (p=0.86) but a higher early risk with the extract.

4
WS 1442 at 900 or 1,800 mg/day in NYHA Class III Heart Failure
PubMed

Randomized, placebo-controlled multicenter trial of WS 1442 1,800 mg/day, 900 mg/day or placebo for 16 weeks, added to existing diuretic treatment. (Tauchert 2002, Am Heart J)

209 patients with chronic stable NYHA class III heart failure.

At 1,800 mg/day, maximal tolerated workload on a bicycle rose significantly more than with placebo or with 900 mg/day. Patient-rated heart failure symptoms fell more than with placebo at both doses. Adverse events, particularly dizziness and vertigo, were least frequent in the 1,800 mg group. The abstract does not give effect sizes.

5
Hawthorn Extract and Blood Pressure in Type 2 Diabetes: 16-Week RCT
PubMed

Randomized, placebo-controlled trial in general practices in Reading, UK, of Crataegus laevigata extract 1,200 mg/day or placebo for 16 weeks. (Walker et al. 2006, Br J Gen Pract)

79 adults with type 2 diabetes (39 hawthorn, 40 placebo); 71% took blood pressure drugs, and participants took an average of 4.4 diabetes or blood pressure drugs.

Diastolic pressure fell from 85.6 to 83.0 mmHg with hawthorn and went from 84.5 to 85.0 mmHg with placebo, a significant group difference (p=0.035). Systolic pressure did not differ between groups (falls of 3.6 vs 0.8 mmHg, p=0.329). No herb and drug interaction was found.

6
Hawthorn and Magnesium for Mildly Raised Blood Pressure: 10-Week Pilot
PubMed

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled pilot with four arms: magnesium 600 mg, hawthorn extract 500 mg, both, or placebo daily for 10 weeks. (Walker et al. 2002, Phytother Res)

36 adults with mild essential hypertension completed; 19 were assigned hawthorn, alone or with magnesium.

Blood pressure fell in all groups, including placebo, and the main analysis found no difference between treatments. A factorial contrast showed a trend toward lower resting diastolic pressure at week 10 in the hawthorn groups that did not reach significance (p=0.081).

7
Hawthorn Extract Dose and Flow-Mediated Dilation: Crossover RCT
PubMed

Randomized four-period crossover of placebo and 1,000, 1,500 and 2,500 mg/day of extract standardized to 50 mg OPC per 250 mg, taken in two daily doses for 3.5 days with 4-day washouts; extract and placebo capsules were donated by Gaia, Inc. (Asher et al. 2012, BMC Complement Altern Med)

21 adults with prehypertension or mild hypertension completed the study.

No dose-response effect was found on brachial artery flow-mediated dilation (the main outcome), artery diameter or blood pressure. The authors concluded that any blood pressure effect of hawthorn is likely not driven by nitric oxide.

Side effects and drug interactions

Common Potential side effects

In pooled placebo-controlled trials, reported side effects were infrequent, mild and transient, including nausea, dizziness, and heart-related and digestive complaints.
In a 6-month, 120-person heart failure trial, more adverse events were reported on hawthorn than placebo (most not heart-related), and a later analysis found a higher early risk of heart failure worsening with the extract. In the 2,681-person SPICE trial, adverse events were similar to placebo.
Safety in pregnancy and breastfeeding has not been established, so the EU monograph does not recommend use; it also advises against use for heart complaints under age 18.
The EU monograph advises seeing a doctor right away if the ankles or legs swell, if pain occurs in the heart area (it may spread to the arms, upper abdomen or neck), or if breathing becomes difficult. Hawthorn is not a substitute for medical care of a heart condition.
In January 2024 the FDA published a list of products, including dietary supplements labeled tejocote root (Crataegus mexicana, Mexican hawthorn), that actually contained yellow oleander, a toxic plant, and warned that these products may cause severe harm or even be fatal.

Important Drug interactions

Heart medicines (digoxin, beta-blockers, antiarrhythmics): lab and animal data suggest hawthorn could add to their effects. A digoxin study in healthy volunteers and heart failure trials in people on several heart medicines did not show such interactions, but check with your cardiologist before combining.
Blood pressure medicines: in a trial of people with type 2 diabetes, most taking them, diastolic pressure fell 2.6 mmHg on hawthorn versus a 0.5 mmHg rise on placebo, and no herb and drug interaction was found; monitor blood pressure when combining.
Nitrates and other vessel-widening drugs: based on its lab pharmacology, a review presumed hawthorn might add to their effects, but no clinical study has shown this; monitor blood pressure.

Frequently asked questions about Hawthorn (Crataegus spp.)

What is the recommended dosage of hawthorn?

Heart trials used 160 to 1,800 mg a day of leaf and flower extract; the two largest used 900 mg a day, and blood pressure trials used 250 to 1,200 mg a day. The EU traditional-use range for comparable dry extracts is 240 to 900 mg a day. Anyone with a heart condition should discuss the dose with their doctor.

What is hawthorn used for?

Hawthorn is used mainly for heart and circulation support. The EU herbal monograph covers it only as a traditional herbal medicine for temporary nervous heart complaints such as palpitations, after a doctor has ruled out serious causes, and for mild stress and sleep. In people with heart failure, older and smaller trials found better exercise tolerance and symptom scores, but the two largest trials found no improvement in their main outcomes.

How long does hawthorn take to work?

Blood pressure trials ran 10 weeks to 6 months, older exercise and symptom trials 8 to 16 weeks, and the largest outcome trial 2 years. In one trial, the small diastolic drop was measured at 16 weeks. The EU monograph advises seeing a doctor if symptoms last more than 2 weeks or get worse while using it.

Is hawthorn safe, and does it have side effects?

In trials lasting up to 2 years, side effects were usually mild, such as nausea, dizziness and digestive complaints, and in the largest trial adverse events matched placebo. In one 6-month trial, more adverse events occurred on hawthorn and early worsening of heart failure was more common. Safety in pregnancy and breastfeeding is not established, lab data suggest hawthorn could add to the effects of heart medicines (trials have not shown this), and some products labeled tejocote root were found to contain toxic yellow oleander. Talk with your doctor first if you have a heart condition.

What is Hawthorn?

Hawthorn (Crataegus species) is a thorny shrub whose leaves, flowers and berries have a long history of use in European herbal tradition for the heart. Extracts are usually standardized to oligomeric procyanidins (OPCs) and flavonoids such as vitexin and hyperoside; the most studied is the leaf and flower extract WS 14…

Does Hawthorn interact with any medications?

Possible interactions include: Heart medicines (digoxin, beta-blockers, antiarrhythmics): lab and animal data suggest hawthorn could add to their effects. A digoxin study in healthy volunteers and heart failure trials in people on several heart medicines did not show such interactions, but check with your card… If you take prescription medication, check with a pharmacist or doctor before using it.

How strong is the scientific evidence for Hawthorn?

NutraSmarts rates the evidence for Hawthorn as Limited (2 out of 5). It is backed by 7 study summaries and 12 cited references summarized on this page. A higher rating reflects more, larger, and better-designed human studies.

References(12 citations)

Evidence ratings on NutraSmarts are based on the totality of human clinical research, with emphasis on randomized controlled trials, meta-analyses, and systematic reviews. The references below directly support claims made throughout this page.

  1. Pittler MH, Guo R, Ernst E. Hawthorn extract for treating chronic heart failure. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2008;2008(1):CD005312. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD005312.pub2.PubMedUsed to support: Cochrane systematic review: 14 double-blind randomized placebo-controlled trials of hawthorn leaf and flower extract were included and 10 (855 patients with chronic heart failure, NYHA I to III, mostly on conventional treatment) were pooled. Maximal workload rose by 5.35 W versus placebo, exercise tolerance and the pressure-heart rate product improved, and shortness of breath and fatigue scores fell. Mortality and cardiac events were not reported except in one trial. Adverse events were infrequent, mild and transient.
  2. Holubarsch CJ, Colucci WS, Meinertz T, Gaus W, Tendera M. The efficacy and safety of Crataegus extract WS 1442 in patients with heart failure: the SPICE trial. Eur J Heart Fail. 2008;10(12):1255-63. doi: 10.1016/j.ejheart.2008.10.004.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled multicenter trial in 2,681 adults with NYHA II or III heart failure and LVEF of 35% or less: WS 1442 900 mg/day for 24 months did not change time to first cardiac event (HR 0.95, 95% CI 0.82 to 1.10, p=0.476); the cardiac mortality trend was not significant (HR 0.89, p=0.269). In the LVEF of 25% or more subgroup, sudden cardiac death was lower (HR 0.59, p=0.025). Adverse events were comparable between groups.
  3. Walker AF, Marakis G, Simpson E, Hope JL, Robinson PA, Hassanein M, Simpson HC. Hypotensive effects of hawthorn for patients with diabetes taking prescription drugs: a randomised controlled trial. Br J Gen Pract. 2006;56(527):437-43.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized placebo-controlled trial in 79 patients with type 2 diabetes in UK general practice (71% on blood pressure drugs): Crataegus laevigata extract 1,200 mg/day for 16 weeks lowered diastolic pressure from 85.6 to 83.0 mmHg versus 84.5 to 85.0 mmHg on placebo (group difference p=0.035); systolic pressure did not differ (p=0.329). No herb and drug interaction was found.
  4. Zick SM, Vautaw BM, Gillespie B, Aaronson KD. Hawthorn Extract Randomized Blinded Chronic Heart Failure (HERB CHF) trial. Eur J Heart Fail. 2009;11(10):990-9. doi: 10.1093/eurjhf/hfp116.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 120 ambulatory adults with NYHA II or III heart failure on conventional therapy: hawthorn 450 mg twice daily for 6 months did not change 6-minute walk distance (p=0.61), quality of life, functional capacity, neurohormones, oxidative stress or inflammation markers. LVEF differed slightly in favor of hawthorn (p=0.04); more adverse events occurred on hawthorn (p=0.02), most non-cardiac. Registered as NCT00343902.
  5. Zick SM, Gillespie B, Aaronson KD. The effect of Crataegus oxycantha Special Extract WS 1442 on clinical progression in patients with mild to moderate symptoms of heart failure. Eur J Heart Fail. 2008;10(6):587-93. doi: 10.1016/j.ejheart.2008.04.008.PubMedUsed to support: Retrospective analysis of the HERB CHF trial (WS 1442 900 mg/day or placebo for 6 months): heart failure progression occurred in 46.6% vs 43.3% (OR 1.14, p=0.86), but patients on the extract had a higher early risk of progression (3.9 times, p=0.035; 6.4 times after adjustment). The authors concluded the extract does not reduce progression and appears to raise early risk.
  6. Tauchert M. Efficacy and safety of crataegus extract WS 1442 in comparison with placebo in patients with chronic stable New York Heart Association class-III heart failure. Am Heart J. 2002;143(5):910-5. doi: 10.1067/mhj.2002.121463.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized placebo-controlled multicenter trial in 209 patients with NYHA class III heart failure on diuretics: after 16 weeks, WS 1442 1,800 mg/day raised maximal tolerated workload significantly more than placebo or 900 mg/day, and patient-rated symptoms fell more than with placebo at both doses. Adverse events were least frequent at 1,800 mg/day.
  7. Walker AF, Marakis G, Morris AP, Robinson PA. Promising hypotensive effect of hawthorn extract: a randomized double-blind pilot study of mild, essential hypertension. Phytother Res. 2002;16(1):48-54. doi: 10.1002/ptr.947.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized double-blind pilot in 36 mildly hypertensive adults (magnesium 600 mg, hawthorn extract 500 mg, both, or placebo for 10 weeks): blood pressure fell in all groups including placebo and ANOVA found no difference between treatments; a factorial contrast showed a non-significant trend toward lower resting diastolic pressure with hawthorn (p=0.081).
  8. Asher GN, Viera AJ, Weaver MA, Dominik R, Caughey M, Hinderliter AL. Effect of hawthorn standardized extract on flow mediated dilation in prehypertensive and mildly hypertensive adults: a randomized, controlled cross-over trial. BMC Complement Altern Med. 2012;12:26. doi: 10.1186/1472-6882-12-26.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized four-period crossover in 21 prehypertensive or mildly hypertensive adults: placebo or 1,000, 1,500 and 2,500 mg/day hawthorn extract (standardized to 50 mg OPC per 250 mg) for 3.5 days each showed no dose-response effect on flow-mediated dilation, artery diameter or blood pressure. Capsules were donated by Gaia, Inc. (per the full text).
  9. Szikora Z, Mátyus RO, Szabó BV, Csupor D, Tóth B. Hawthorn (Crataegus spp.) Clinically Significantly Reduces Blood Pressure in Hypertension: A Meta-Analysis of Randomized Placebo-Controlled Clinical Trials. Pharmaceuticals (Basel). 2025;18(7):1027. doi: 10.3390/ph18071027.PubMedUsed to support: Meta-analysis of 6 randomized placebo-controlled trials (428 participants, 10 weeks to 6 months, 250 to 1,200 mg/day): systolic pressure fell by 6.65 mmHg more than placebo (95% CI -11.72 to -1.59 in the full text), while the diastolic difference (-7.19 mmHg, 95% CI -15.17 to 0.79) was not significant. The authors call for larger trials by independent groups.
  10. European Medicines Agency, Committee on Herbal Medicinal Products (HMPC). European Union herbal monograph on Crataegus spp., folium cum flore. Final. European Medicines Agency. 2016;EMA/HMPC/159075/2014. Adopted 5 April 2016..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed (official EU monograph, read in full). Traditional use only, for temporary nervous cardiac complaints such as palpitations after serious conditions are excluded by a doctor, and for mild mental stress and sleep; dry extract daily doses 240 to 900 mg. Not recommended under 18 for the cardiac indication or in pregnancy and lactation; see a doctor at once for ankle or leg swelling, chest pain spreading to arms, upper abdomen or neck, or breathlessness; interactions none reported; undesirable effects none known.
  11. European Medicines Agency, Committee on Herbal Medicinal Products (HMPC). Assessment report on Crataegus spp., folium cum flore. Final. European Medicines Agency. 2016;EMA/HMPC/159076/2014. 5 April 2016..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed (official EU assessment report, read in full). Summarizes lab and animal pharmacology: increased contraction force in failing human heart muscle strips, proposed sodium potassium pump and phosphodiesterase inhibition, endothelium and nitric oxide dependent relaxation of human artery rings, and protection in rat ischemia models. Lists placebo-controlled heart failure trials at 160 to 1,800 mg/day. Concludes that the reported well-established use in heart failure cannot be regarded as proven by the available data, so only traditional use is accepted. Notes that interactions with digoxin, beta-blockers and vasodilators have been postulated but not substantiated clinically, including a digoxin study in healthy volunteers; WS 1442 is standardized to 18.75% OPC.
  12. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH). Hawthorn. NCCIH. 2025;Last updated April 2025; accessed 2026..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed (US NIH fact sheet, read online). In January 2024 the FDA published a list of products, including dietary supplements labeled tejocote root (C. mexicana), that actually contain yellow oleander, a toxic plant, and warned that they may cause severe harm or even be fatal. Lists side effects including dizziness, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea and muscle pain, notes that one study indicated an early risk of heart failure progression with one preparation, and that little is known about safety in pregnancy or breastfeeding.