Rhuleave-K™ (Curcumin, Boswellia and Sesame Oil Blend)

Curcuma longa, Boswellia serrata, Sesamum indicum
Evidence Level
Limited
5 Clinical Trials
4 Documented Benefits
2/5 Evidence Score

Rhuleave-K™ is a liquid blend from Arjuna Natural (India) of turmeric (Curcuma longa) extract and Boswellia serrata gum resin extract dissolved in black sesame seed oil, sold in 500 mg softgels. Two softgels (1,000 mg) supply about 266 mg of curcuminoids and 10 mg of AKBA, a boswellic acid. In placebo-controlled trials, a single 1,000 mg dose eased pain over 6 hours in 232 healthy adults with exercise-related muscle or joint soreness and in 60 young women with menstrual cramps, and 15 days of use eased posture-related low back soreness in 52 adults. The trials were short, run at Indian hospitals with product supplied by the maker, and reported unusually large effects with almost no change on placebo. A 90-day open-label study found no liver or kidney marker changes, but turmeric supplements are a known, rare cause of liver injury, and the blend contains sesame, a major food allergen.

Studied Dose 1,000 mg (two 500 mg softgels, about 266 mg curcuminoids and 10 mg AKBA) as one dose in acute pain trials or daily for 7 days; 500 mg in a 15-day low back trial; 2,000 mg a day for 90 days in a safety study.
Active Compound Turmeric rhizome extract (95% curcuminoids, about 28% of the blend), Boswellia serrata gum resin extract (about 10%) and black sesame seed oil (about 62%); the finished blend is standardized to at least 26.6% total curcuminoids and at least 1% AKBA (3-O-acetyl-11-keto-beta-boswellic acid). Both extracts are made with ethyl acetate and dissolved in the oil by a proprietary process named SPEEDTECH, and the trial reports describe it as a high-dissolution oil formulation.

Benefits

Exercise-related musculoskeletal soreness after a single dose

In a multicenter trial in 232 healthy adults with moderate to severe pain within 24 hours of exercise (mostly gym goers), one 1,000 mg dose lowered pain scores over 6 hours more than placebo, with relief first noticed after about 68 minutes on average. Pain on placebo barely changed, an unusually flat response, and the maker supplied the product.

Posture-related low back discomfort over 15 days

In a placebo-controlled trial in 52 adults with at least 2 to 3 weeks of posture-related low back soreness, 500 mg of the blend for 15 days lowered pain intensity more than placebo, and the Oswestry disability score fell 98% versus 3% on placebo. The reported near-complete relief by day 15 is unusually large for a 15-day trial of this size.

Menstrual cramp discomfort after a single dose

In 60 women aged 18 to 35 with painful periods, two softgels (1,000 mg) taken once cramp pain reached 5 of 10 gave more total pain relief over 6 hours than placebo (18.9 versus 1.5 points). It was a one-day pilot with no sample size calculation, and the maker supplied the softgels and placebo.

Liver and kidney blood markers over 90 days in healthy adults

In an open-label study with no control group, 40 healthy adults took 2,000 mg a day for 90 days; liver enzymes, bilirubin and kidney markers stayed within normal ranges, and no adverse events were reported. A study this small cannot rule out the rare liver injury reported with turmeric supplements.

Mechanism of action

1

Curcuminoids and boswellic acids in inflammation pathways

The trial authors cite laboratory research showing that curcumin and boswellic acids inhibit the NF-kB signaling pathway, and AKBA is reported to inhibit 5-lipoxygenase. None of the Rhuleave-K trials measured inflammation markers or enzyme activity in people, so how the blend acts is not established.

2

Extracts dissolved in black sesame seed oil

The curcumin and boswellia extracts are dissolved evenly in black sesame seed oil using a proprietary process, which the trial reports describe as a high-dissolution formulation. No human absorption or blood level study of the blend appears in the research cited here, so faster uptake has not been shown.

Clinical trials

1
Rhuleave-K 1,000 mg Single Dose vs Placebo in Exercise-Related Muscle and Joint Soreness: 232-Person Multicenter RCT
PubMed

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-dose, 6-hour trial at six Indian sites, registered as CTRI/2020/06/025601; the comparator was a matching maltodextrin placebo softgel only, with no NSAID or acetaminophen arm; primary outcome was the sum of pain intensity differences at rest over 6 hours (SPID6). Arjuna Natural supplied the softgels and placebo as an in-kind contribution; no author worked for the maker. A companion paper (Kumar Kare et al. 2025, Cureus) reported McGill pain questionnaire results from the same trial (Rudrappa et al. 2022, Medicine (Baltimore))

232 healthy adults aged 18 to 65 (116 per group, sex ratio 1:1), mostly regular gym goers, with moderate to severe pain (at least 5 of 10) from exercise within the previous 24 hours, including grade 1 sprains or strains; sites were the lower back (70), shoulder (22), knee (20), lower body (22) or elsewhere (98); people with osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis were excluded.

SPID6 at rest was larger with Rhuleave-K than placebo (P < .001), and pain at rest differed from placebo from 1 hour onward. Average time to first perceptible relief was 68.5 minutes. Placebo pain scores stayed near 7.8 of 10 throughout, an unusually flat placebo response. No adverse events or dropouts were reported. The companion paper reported larger falls in sensory and emotional pain scores than placebo.

2
Rhuleave-K 500 mg for 15 Days vs Placebo in Posture-Related Low Back Discomfort: 52-Person RCT
PubMed

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel trial; primary outcome was change in pain intensity on a 0 to 10 scale from baseline to day 7 and day 15, with pain relief and the Oswestry disability index as secondary outcomes. The abstract gives the dose as 500 mg of Rhuleave-K over 15 days and lists no registry number; the authors declared no conflicts, and neither worked for the maker; the abstract does not say who supplied the product or funded the study (Gupta et al. 2025, J Back Musculoskelet Rehabil)

52 adults aged 18 to 70 (sex ratio 1:1) with posture-related low back discomfort for at least 2 to 3 weeks and pain of at least 5 of 10.

Pain intensity fell more with Rhuleave-K than placebo by day 15 (P < .001), by a reported 56% at day 7 and 98.5% at day 15 from baseline. All 26 people on Rhuleave-K and 3 on placebo reached at least half of the maximum pain relief score. The Oswestry disability score fell 27% and 98% on Rhuleave-K versus 1% and 3% on placebo. Small and short.

3
Turmeric-Boswellia-Sesame Blend 1,000 mg Single Dose vs Placebo for Menstrual Cramp Pain: 60-Woman Pilot RCT
PubMed

Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, one-day pilot trial registered as CTRI/2022/05/042916; two 500 mg softgels taken once cramp pain reached 5 of 10, with ratings every 30 minutes for 6 hours; primary outcome was total pain relief at 6 hours (TOTPAR). Arjuna Natural provided the softgels and placebo; no author worked for the maker, and no sample size calculation was done (Agarwal et al. 2023, J Clin Med)

60 women aged 18 to 35 with regular cycles and primary dysmenorrhea (painful periods with no underlying disease), 30 per group.

Mean TOTPAR was 18.9 on the blend versus 1.5 on placebo, and pain intensity differed from placebo at every time point (P < .001); SPID6 was 34.32 versus 1.7 (P < .0001). No adverse events, dropouts or rescue medicine use were reported. The authors noted the small sample and the lack of a standard treatment comparison group.

4
Rhuleave-K 1,000 mg a Day vs Acetaminophen for 7 Days in Acute Musculoskeletal Pain: Open-Label Pilot RCT
PubMed

Randomized, open-label, active-controlled pilot at one Bangalore hospital, registered as CTRI/2018/04/013154: Rhuleave-K 1,000 mg a day (two 500 mg softgels before breakfast) or acetaminophen 1,000 mg a day (two 500 mg tablets) for 7 days; no placebo group and no power calculation. Arjuna Natural gave the capsules as a gift sample; the authors declared no funding or conflicts (Rudrappa et al. 2020, Medicine (Baltimore))

88 healthy adults aged 18 to 65 (sex ratio 1:1) with acute musculoskeletal pain of at least 5 of 10 that began within the previous 24 hours; 87 completed.

Pain fell from baseline in the Rhuleave-K group by day 3 and day 7 (P < .001), and it also fell in the acetaminophen group. The between-group differences in pain at day 3 and day 7 were not statistically significant (P = .436 and P = .529). Because the study was open label, had no placebo arm and was not powered, it cannot show that either product caused the improvement or that the two are equivalent, although the paper describes them as equivalent and PubMed indexes it as an equivalence trial. No adverse events were reported.

5
Turmeric-Boswellia-Sesame Blend 2,000 mg a Day for 90 Days: Open-Label Safety Study
PubMed

Single-arm, open-label safety study with no control group: two 500 mg softgels twice a day (2,000 mg a day) for 90 days, with blood tests at baseline and days 30, 60 and 90. The product, identified as Rhuleave-K, was labeled and supplied by Arjuna Natural; no author worked for the maker (Kim et al. 2025, Adv Clin Exp Med)

40 healthy adults aged 18 to 55 (55% men; mean age about 32) in India.

Liver enzymes (ALT, AST, ALP), bilirubin, kidney markers, blood counts and lipids stayed within normal ranges over 90 days, and no participant met liver injury criteria (R value, Hy's law or eDISH plot). No adverse events and no dropouts were reported. With 40 people and no comparison group, rare reactions such as turmeric-associated liver injury could not be detected.

Side effects and drug interactions

Common Potential side effects

No adverse events were reported in the trials of the blend, which ran from a single dose to 15 days, or in a 90-day open-label study of 2,000 mg a day in 40 healthy adults. These studies were small and short, so uncommon side effects would not have shown up.
Liver: turmeric and curcumin supplements are an established and growing cause of drug induced liver injury. The US Drug Induced Liver Injury Network reported ten turmeric associated cases collected between 2004 and 2022, most of them a hepatocellular pattern of injury and most in women, including one death from acute liver failure; seven of the ten patients carried the HLA-B*35:01 gene variant. Liver tests stayed normal in the 90-day study of this blend, which was too small to detect such a rare reaction. Stop and seek medical care if you develop jaundice, dark urine, persistent nausea, unusual fatigue or right upper abdominal pain.
Sesame allergy: the blend is about 62% black sesame seed oil. Sesame is a major food allergen that US packaged foods and dietary supplements must declare on the label as of January 1, 2023, so people with a sesame allergy should avoid it.
Digestive upset is the side effect most often listed for curcumin and boswellia products taken on their own (see those ingredient pages); it was not reported in the studies of this blend.
In maker-run rat studies, a single 2,000 mg/kg dose and 90 days at up to 1,000 mg/kg a day caused no toxic effects; animal results do not establish human safety.
None of the cited studies tested the blend during pregnancy or breastfeeding or in people with liver or gallbladder disease. The Curcumin/Turmeric page notes that curcumin can make the gallbladder contract, so people with gallstones or bile duct problems should ask a doctor first.

Important Drug interactions

Blood thinners and antiplatelet drugs (warfarin, aspirin, clopidogrel): no interaction study of this blend has been published; ask a doctor or pharmacist before combining it with these medicines and before surgery.
Pain relievers (NSAIDs or acetaminophen): no cited study tested taking the blend together with them, so do not change a prescribed or recommended pain medicine without talking to your doctor.
Other prescription medicines: no drug interaction studies of Rhuleave-K have been published. The Curcumin/Turmeric page lists interaction cautions for curcumin; tell your doctor or pharmacist about any supplement you take.

Frequently asked questions about Rhuleave-K™ (Curcumin, Boswellia and Sesame Oil Blend)

What is in Rhuleave-K?

It is a liquid blend of turmeric extract (about 28%), Boswellia serrata gum resin extract (about 10%) and black sesame seed oil (about 62%), made by Arjuna Natural and sold in 500 mg softgels. Two softgels supply about 266 mg of curcuminoids and 10 mg of AKBA.

How much Rhuleave-K was used in the studies?

Most trials used 1,000 mg, two 500 mg softgels, either as a single dose or once a day for 7 days. A low back trial used 500 mg for 15 days, and a 90-day safety study used 2,000 mg a day. No study has tested use beyond 90 days.

How fast did people notice an effect in the trials?

In a placebo-controlled trial of exercise-related soreness, people first noticed relief about 68 minutes after a 1,000 mg dose on average. These were one-day trials run with maker-supplied product, and the placebo groups showed almost no change, which is unusual for pain studies, so independent trials are needed.

Who should avoid Rhuleave-K?

Anyone allergic to sesame, since most of the blend is sesame oil. People with liver disease, gallstones or bile duct problems, those taking blood thinners or other prescription medicines, and anyone pregnant or breastfeeding should talk to a doctor first. Stop it and seek care if signs of liver trouble appear, such as yellow skin or eyes or dark urine, because turmeric supplements are a rare cause of liver injury.

What is Rhuleave-K?

Rhuleave-K™ is a liquid blend from Arjuna Natural (India) of turmeric (Curcuma longa) extract and Boswellia serrata gum resin extract dissolved in black sesame seed oil, sold in 500 mg softgels. Two softgels (1,000 mg) supply about 266 mg of curcuminoids and 10 mg of AKBA, a boswellic acid.

What is Rhuleave-K used for?

Rhuleave-K is researched primarily for Muscle & Recovery and Women's Health. In a multicenter trial in 232 healthy adults with moderate to severe pain within 24 hours of exercise (mostly gym goers), one 1,000 mg dose lowered pain scores over 6 hours more than placebo, with relief first noticed after about 68 minutes…

Is Rhuleave-K safe, and does it have side effects?

Side effects and cautions reported for Rhuleave-K include: No adverse events were reported in the trials of the blend, which ran from a single dose to 15 days, or in a 90-day open-label study of 2,000 mg a day in 40 healthy adults. These studies were small and short, so uncommon side effects would not have shown up. It may also interact with some medications. Rhuleave-K is not right for everyone, so check with a healthcare provider first if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, have a medical condition, or take prescription medication.

Does Rhuleave-K interact with any medications?

Possible interactions include: Blood thinners and antiplatelet drugs (warfarin, aspirin, clopidogrel): no interaction study of this blend has been published; ask a doctor or pharmacist before combining it with these medicines and before surgery. If you take prescription medication, check with a pharmacist or doctor before using it.

How strong is the scientific evidence for Rhuleave-K?

NutraSmarts rates the evidence for Rhuleave-K as Limited (2 out of 5). It is backed by 5 study summaries and 9 cited references summarized on this page. A higher rating reflects more, larger, and better-designed human studies.

References(9 citations)

Evidence ratings on NutraSmarts are based on the totality of human clinical research, with emphasis on randomized controlled trials, meta-analyses, and systematic reviews. The references below directly support claims made throughout this page.

  1. Rudrappa GH, Murthy M, Saklecha S, Kumar Kare S, Gupta A, Basu I. Fast pain relief in exercise-induced acute musculoskeletal pain by turmeric-boswellia formulation: A randomized placebo-controlled double-blinded multicentre study. Medicine (Baltimore). 2022;101(35):e30144. doi: 10.1097/MD.0000000000030144.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled single-dose trial (CTRI/2020/06/025601) in 232 healthy adults with exercise-induced acute musculoskeletal pain at six Indian sites. Rhuleave-K 1,000 mg (two 500 mg softgels; 266 mg curcuminoids and 10 mg AKBA; blend standardized to 26.6% curcuminoids and 1% AKBA, with ethyl acetate extracts solubilized in black sesame seed oil) improved the primary outcome, SPID6 at rest, versus placebo (P < .001), with mean time to perceptible relief of 68.5 minutes. No adverse events. Arjuna Natural supplied product and placebo as an in-kind contribution; authors declared no conflicts.
  2. Kumar Kare S, H R G, Gupta A. Modulation of Affective and Sensory Qualities of Acute Nociceptive Pain by Curcuma longa and Boswellia serrata Extract Formulation: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Design in Subjects With Exercise-Induced Acute Musculoskeletal Pain. Cureus. 2025;17(1):e77204. doi: 10.7759/cureus.77204.PubMedUsed to support: Second report from the same 232-person placebo-controlled trial (same registry number, CTRI/2020/06/025601): a single 1,000 mg dose of the turmeric-boswellia formulation lowered McGill pain questionnaire total, sensory and affective scores, VAS and present pain index over 6 hours more than placebo (P < .001). Authors declared no financial support.
  3. Gupta A, Agarwal A. The effect of turmeric-Boswellia formulation (Rhuleave-K) in posture-related low back soreness and discomfort: A randomized double blinded placebo controlled trial. J Back Musculoskelet Rehabil. 2025;38(3):494-505. doi: 10.1177/10538127241296343.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial in 52 adults with posture-related low back soreness: Rhuleave-K 500 mg for 15 days lowered pain intensity (primary outcome) more than placebo at day 15 (P < .001); the Oswestry disability index fell 98% versus 3% on placebo by day 15 (no between-group P value in the abstract). Product source and funding are not stated in the abstract. Authors declared no conflicts; no registry number appears in the abstract.
  4. Agarwal D, Chaudhary P. Effect of Turmeric-Boswellia-Sesame Formulation in Menstrual Cramp Pain Associated with Primary Dysmenorrhea-A Double-Blind, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study. J Clin Med. 2023;12(12):3968. doi: 10.3390/jcm12123968.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled one-day pilot (CTRI/2022/05/042916) in 60 women aged 18 to 35 with primary dysmenorrhea: a single 1,000 mg dose gave higher total pain relief at 6 hours (primary outcome; 18.9 versus 1.5) and larger SPID6 than placebo. Gives the composition as turmeric extract 28%, boswellia extract 10% and sesame oil 62%. Arjuna Natural provided softgels and placebo; no adverse events.
  5. Rudrappa GH, Chakravarthi PT, Benny IR. Efficacy of high-dissolution turmeric-sesame formulation for pain relief in adult subjects with acute musculoskeletal pain compared to acetaminophen: A randomized controlled study. Medicine (Baltimore). 2020;99(28):e20373. doi: 10.1097/MD.0000000000020373.PubMedUsed to support: Randomized open-label pilot (CTRI/2018/04/013154) in 88 healthy adults with acute musculoskeletal pain: Rhuleave-K 1,000 mg a day or acetaminophen 1,000 mg a day for 7 days. Pain improved from baseline (P < .001 reported for the Rhuleave-K group); between-group differences at day 3 and day 7 were not significant. No placebo arm and no power calculation; the paper's equivalence conclusion is not adopted here. Arjuna Natural gave the capsules as a gift sample; no adverse events.
  6. Kim SK, Jayachandran V, Vo TS, Wijesekara I. Safety assessment of turmeric-boswellia-sesame formulation in healthy adult volunteers: An open-label prospective study. Adv Clin Exp Med. 2025;34(8):1277-1288. doi: 10.17219/acem/193023.PubMedUsed to support: Single-arm open-label study in 40 healthy adults taking 2,000 mg a day of the turmeric-boswellia-sesame formulation (Rhuleave-K, made with SPEEDTECH technology and supplied by Arjuna Natural) for 90 days: no adverse events, and liver, kidney, blood count and lipid markers stayed within normal ranges, with no liver injury pattern by R value, Hy's law or eDISH plot.
  7. Antony B, Benny M, Kuruvilla BT, Gupta NK, Jacob S. Acute and sub chronic toxicity studies with herbal pain relieving formula (Rhuleave-K™) in rats. Regul Toxicol Pharmacol. 2022;133:105214. doi: 10.1016/j.yrtph.2022.105214.PubMedUsed to support: Animal study by Arjuna Natural researchers: Rhuleave-K (Curcuma longa extract, Boswellia serrata extract and black sesame seed oil) caused no signs of toxicity at a single 2,000 mg/kg dose and no toxic effects after 90 days at up to 1,000 mg/kg a day in rats (NOAEL 1,000 mg/kg a day). Rat data, not human evidence.
  8. Halegoua-DeMarzio D, Navarro V, Ahmad J, Avula B, Barnhart H, Barritt AS, Bonkovsky HL, Fontana RJ, Ghabril MS, Hoofnagle JH, Khan IA, Kleiner DE, Phillips E, Stolz A, Vuppalanchi R. Liver Injury Associated with Turmeric-A Growing Problem: Ten Cases from the Drug-Induced Liver Injury Network [DILIN]. Am J Med. 2023;136(2):200-206. doi: 10.1016/j.amjmed.2022.09.026.PubMedUsed to support: Case series from the US Drug-Induced Liver Injury Network of ten turmeric-associated liver injury cases (2004 to 2022): 8 women, 9 hepatocellular, 5 hospitalized, 1 death from acute liver failure; 7 carried HLA-B*35:01, and 3 of 7 tested products also contained piperine. Concerns turmeric products in general, not Rhuleave-K.
  9. US Food and Drug Administration. The FASTER Act: Sesame Is the Ninth Major Food Allergen US Food and Drug Administration. 2024;Web page, content current as of April 12, 2024. Accessed 2026..SourceUsed to support: Not PubMed-indexed. FDA web page stating that the FASTER Act identifies sesame as the ninth major food allergen and that, as of January 1, 2023, sesame must be labeled as an allergen on packaged foods and dietary supplements.